Author Topic: Hello  (Read 6683 times)

Offline Tara SParker

• SP team
    • View Profile
Hello
« on: January 20, 2008, 05:56:39 PM »
Hi everyone

I am a new member of staff and I am really pleased to be here! I am not a teacher (or at least do not teach school age people), I suppose I have sort of turned into a social psychologist type of person although I started out as a paediatric nurse. Not your average career path! I am currently a researcher at the OU and am very interested in how young people's experiences of relationships have altered as a result of the huge amounts of digitally mediated communication around.  I do not just mean Computer Mediated Communication but how we all integrate it all over the place, sending texts to mobiles (via another phone or via the PC), games consoles to meet and play with 'virtual' friends and 'real' ones (note the scare quotes indicating that personally I am not sure that virtual friends are not 'real' ones??????). It gets even more complicated; I talk to my eldest son (13) via msn - I use it to tell him to go to bed mainly! I also chat to my other lads when I am in the office and they are at home via msn or email as well as texts. I could go on for ever here but I suspect you are beginning to see why I am so pleased to be here - teenagers' relationships (all of them) are so different now than they were when I was young years and years and years ago.....

I suppose I am here to learn from you really but in order to persuade the 'dictator' to let me stay I will need to find something to do and I reckon doing something is the best way to find out about it anyway! To start with I need to know how to make an avatars as I see there is a staff meeting in world on Wednesday and I assume I will need to go in as something....Incidentally I tried to add my name to the list for this meeting and I could not type it in there, does anyone know if this is a glitch or if I should be doing something that I am not.