The schome community Go to the Schome Wiki
December 03, 2020, 07:32:03 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: To register for the wiki or forum email ONE sentence explaining why you want to join the Schommunity to Peter[dot]Twining[at]newcastle[dot]edu[dot]au
(Replace [dot] with . and [at] with @)

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Introductions  (Read 6978 times)
leroyh

View Profile Email
« on: September 18, 2008, 03:31:39 AM »

Greetings and salutations:

I am delighted to be part of this forum and look forward to some fruitful deliberations.  I am particularly interested in this project because it is related to my research area.  I am a PhD student at the University of Nottingham and I am researching the use of Web 2.0 as an alternative to excluded secondary school students.  I started looking at the use of Moodle as a tool but came across this great integration tool that can make this even more meaningful to students.  My research is in its infancy and will need substantial directions as to the area of more specific emphasis.  This is where this forum or community can provide some impetus in my decision.  I want to look at students' reactions, and the way they interact and benefit from the technology.

I have been a secondary school educator in Humanities Department for over 13 years and have been using Moodle as a tool in the classroom primarily as a source of enrichment but realized the endless possibilities since students were using it for other uses which I thought was great.  When I asked most of them what they enjoyed most about Moodle they responded that they enjoyed the ability to upload feedback to wikis and responses to projects.  That is when it 'hit' me that this is a web 2.0 technology!  Now with the added use of Sloodle this can be even more useful.